First Women’s Kampeon Cup kicks off with six teams

Team Pampanga in the AIA Vitality Kampeon Cup.  -CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

Team Pampanga in the AIA Vitality Kampeon Cup. -CONTRIBUTED PHOTO

The AIA Vitality Kampeon Cup, a seven-a-side football league, kicked off a two-day competition for women’s teams this weekend at McKinley Hill Stadium in Taguig.

Six teams from Batangas, Bonifacio Global City, Cebu, Muntinlupa, Palawan, and Pampanga are seeing action in the inaugural tournament from April 15-16.

Pampanga, Muntinlupa, and BGC are slotted in Group A while Cebu, Batangas, and Palawan are in Group B. Teams from each group battle in a single round robin with the top two sides advancing to the semifinals.

The semifinals, featuring showdown between the top placers per group against the second seeds, and finals are scheduled for Sunday.

“I’m really excited for the first Women’s Kampeon Cup,” said 7s Football founder and president Anton del Rosario, who is also a former national team player. “Women need a path for the sport and more local role models. This is where I believe that these ladies representing their cities will be able to step up and be that heroine.”

“We’re happy to have six cities participating, but the goal is to get all the major cities from all over the Philippines to participate. That will not only help the women but also the sport of seven-a-side football grow.”


batangas: Camille Pagara, Allea Niña Bacani, Janna Mae Carandang, Audrey Brenth Ramilo, Fatima Quimit, Swatchel Benette Espina, Erika Mae Miguel, Therese Isabel Trinidad, Kyla Louise Bauan, Gladys Ramiro, Jessa Wela Culanag, Trexi Mira, Iric Pohla Mayor, Francine Marie Sandoval, and Cristina Parallon.

Coach: Tyron Regalad

BGC: Harisa Lemoran, Shelah Cadag, Kim Pariña, Irish Navaja, Joyce Semacio, Dagz Elauria, Dai Dolino, Maegan Alforque, Anaiah Sotto, Dea Ferrer, Agot Danton, Demely Rollon, Anna Mae Mermal, Gucci Bedia, and Arjhane Bolivar.

Coaches: Shane Cosgrove, Patrick O’Neill.

Cebu: Denise Angela Lood, Jolina Colon, Danielle Sofia Nina Daria, Kyza Stephan Colina, Jade Anne Ray Surig, Jospher Halili, Pearl Gabrielle Rivera, Shandra Gayle Colina, Michelle Marie Seno, Peeve KC Layague, Mailyn Lozano, and Ayana Marie Gaitera.

Coaches: Alexandra Monica Cubon and Reymart Cubon

Muntinlupa: Mary Loise Defante, Angel Joy Ador, Aleth Daniella Mandap, Hazel Romina Arce, Jenny Rose Tolis, Arriane Joy Javier, Karlee Danielle Mangaoang, Maria Elena Leonardo, Maria Danielle Tangjangco, and Janet Andaya.

Coaches: Mai Martinez and Ryan Fermi

Palawan: Icy Merayo, Kassandra Lei Viado, Marvi Jean Madeja, Melody Ambasa, Justine Prescilla Cepillo, Justine Pamela Cepillo, Angela Cristine Abiog, Rhyza Nicole Tabligan, Althea Adao, Angelie Tolosa, Jaei Desiree Juan, and Irish Angel Toyco.

Coaches: Antonio Austria with John Paul Gambo


Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.


Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896-6000.